The Dune Reread Index

For Isaac Asimov’s centenary year, I reread the Foundation saga in chronological order. Yet what I did not realise was that 2020 also marked the 100th anniversary of another SF master – Frank Herbert. While I don’t enjoy Dune quite as much as Foundation, there’s no denying it’s a monumental series. Especially when you consider the extra novels written by Herbert’s son Brian, working alongside the legendary Kevin J. Anderson. With that in mind, for 2021 I’m committing myself to a chronological reread of the entire Dune saga. That is internal chronological order, rather than release order. There are two exceptions to this.

First: I’ll be beginning with the Tales of Dune anthology. This contains stories that cover all eras of Dune, but the earliest is set prior to the Butlerian Jihad.

Second: I will not be rereading Duke of Caladan as I only read it a month ago and it is still fresh in my mind. Lady of Caladan I will read whenever it comes out, which will likely be after its placement in the series. Heir of Caladan will have to wait until 2022.

  1. Tales of Dune (Short Fiction Collection)
  2. The Butlerian Jihad
  3. The Machine Crusade
  4. The Battle of Corrin
  5. Sisterhood of Dune
  6. Mentats of Dune
  7. Navigators of Dune
  8. House Atreides
  9. House Harkonnen
  10. House Corrino
  11. The Duke of Caladan
  12. The Lady of Caladan (forthcoming 21st September 2021)
  13. The Heir of Caladan (forthcoming 2022)
  14. Dune
  15. Paul of Dune
  16. Dune Messiah
  17. The Winds of Dune
  18. Children of Dune
  19. God Emperor of Dune
  20. Heretics of Dune
  21. Chapterhouse Dune
  22. Hunters of Dune
  23. Sandworms of Dune
%d bloggers like this: